Shibori musings III – it’s more than dots

So far I’ve posted several shibori fabrics that were primarily made up of dot patterns, which is a very common style of shibori. However, there are other techniques that are used to bind and dye cloth. Here are a few more examples.

blue shibori

This is an example of ori-nui shibori, where thread is run through the fabric along a line, then drawn tight before submerging the cloth in the dye bath.

Another example of ori-nui shibori comes from this early 20th century haori (kimono jacket) woven in tsumugi silk. Tsumugi is also called “pongee” and often has a similar nubbly texture to dupioni silk. More about that in a future post. I love tsumugi!

bamboo shibori

But then again, there’s nothing wrong with the simplicity of basic spiderweb shibori. This piece comes from the lining of the above haori. Bold shibori squares in white and yellow with red make quite a statement. This sort of repeating geometric shibori is often seen in linings and juban, or under-kimono.

red shibori

Next time I’ll cover shibori motifs in printed textiles. Stay tuned!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Absolutely outstanding .Always enjoy your presentations.

  2. shiborigirl says:

    love the top one- have to try that pattern
    thanks

  3. shiborigirl says:

    oops- accidentally posted this to the wrong post- anyway-
    upon thinking about it further, it seems to me that the top fabric was discharged. perhaps indigo dyed first then stitched and then also wrapped between the stitching lines before being discharged. any other thoughts on how this piece was done?

  4. Shiborigirl, I’m not sure. You have more practical knowledge than I do, but going by one the references I have to hand (Shibori: The Inventive Art of Japanese Resist Dyeing), it might also be arashi shibori.

    Honestly, as someone who prefers not to get her hands dirty (unless I’m weeding, then all bets are off), I have a lot of respect for you dyers. I couldn’t even handle finger painting in kindergarten. I’ve always preferred the dry touch of fabric to the intensity and volatility of the dye bath!

  5. Hm. Looking at it again… I believe the ori-nui stitching was done first, then lightly dyed (asagi or hanada, maybe? lighter shades of indigo), then bound as you suggest and dyed again to get the darker shades of indigo (ai), which would explain the extra binding lines seen between the ori-nui design.

    One of the great things about shibori is that the needle holes are usually still in evidence, which makes deciphering the techniques just a little easier. On this cotton, the areas around the needle holes are bright white, whereas the areas that would have been exposed are dark indigo. This leads me to believe that the ori-nui stitching was left in during the entire dye process.

  6. moonbeamarts says:

    I love shibori! I just won a shibori scarf in a blog giveaway and I cannot wait for it to get here!
    Those fabrics are just gorgeous!

  7. MoltenGecko says:

    I love the shibori and am intensely interested in the techniques you are all describing. I have no prior knowledge of how these fabrics were created and thank you so much for the tidbits of information. Please keep blogging and replying with even more ideas. It is as fascinating to me as the process of glass creation.

  8. Sola says:

    I always wondered why it was difficult to find shibori patterns on the really small scale; now i know. Thanks for this series!

  9. foconuts says:

    Come see what I do with Shibori! A modern take on an ancient tradition!
    http://www.foconuts.etsy.com
    ~Laureth

  10. María Luisa Vergara says:

    I love the spiderwed and the square in red but I can’t figure out
    how you mix both techniques.
    I’m a beginner . Can you hice me a junto as how to make it?
    Thank you!

    1. Hi María,

      I believe it is folded first, then thread wrapped tightly around the folded fabric. I didn’t make it so I don’t know for sure.

      Carol

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.